

Tertiary Education Report: Letters for Ministerial appointments to TEI councils – tranche one

Date:	18 December 2018	TEC priority:	High
Security level:	In Confidence	Report no:	B-18-00954
		Minister's office No:	

ACTION SOUGHT				
	Action sought	Deadline		
Hon Chris Hipkins Minister of Education	 Note your decision to make seven appointments to five tertiary education institute councils was notified to Cabinet at its meeting on 17 December 2018; sign and send: letters of appointment; letters notifying the Chancellors and Chairs about the appointments; and letters of thanks to outgoing Ministerial appointees. 	At your earliest convenience		
Enclosure: Yes	Round Robin: No			
 Appendix A: Draft letters to Ministerial appointees; Appendix B: Draft letters to Chancellors and Chairs; and Appendix C: Draft letters to outgoing Ministerial appointees 				

CONTACT FOR TELEPHONE DISCUSSION (IF REQUIRED)						
Name	Position			Telephone		1st contact
Gillian Dudgeon	Deputy Ch	ief Executive, [Delivery	s9(2)(a)		
s9(2)(a)						✓
THE FOLLOWING DEPARTMENTS/AGENCIES HAVE SEEN THIS REPORT						
	MPI	🗌 ENZ	🗌 ERO		☐ MoE	MFAT
	MSD	🗌 NZQA	🗌 NZTE	🖂 TEC	🗌 TPK	Treasury

Minister's Office to Complete:	Approved	Declined
	Noted	Needs change
	Seen	Overtaken by Events
	See Minister's Notes	Withdrawn
Comments:		

Recommendations

Hon Chris Hipkins, Minister of Education

It is recommended that you:

- 1. **note** that your decision to make seven appointments to five tertiary education institution councils was notified to Cabinet at its meeting on 17 December 2018;
- sign and send the attached letters of appointment for the Ministerial appointees (Appendix A refers); these letters include a declaration and consent form and a summary of Ministerial expectations;
- 3. **sign** and **send** the attached letters notifying the Chancellors and Chairs about the appointments (Appendix B refers);
- 4. **sign** and **send** the attached letters of thanks to the outgoing Ministerial appointees (Appendix C refers); and
- 5. **agree** that the TEC release this briefing once a press release announcing the appointments has been made, with information containing personal information (the appendices) withheld.

AGREED / NOT AGREED

GEllidge

Gillian Dudgeon Deputy Chief Executive Delivery Tertiary Education Commission

18 December 2018

Hon Chris Hipkins

Minister of Education

___/__/___

Purpose

1. This paper provides you with the letters needed to complete seven appointments to tertiary education institution (TEI) councils. It also provides you with letters to notify the Chancellors and Chairs of your decisions and letters of thanks to the outgoing Ministerial appointees.

Background

- 2. The Cabinet meeting of 17 December 2018 will note your intention to make the following appointments:
 - Appoint Ms Liz TE AMO a council member of Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology from 1 January 2019 to 30 April 2021.
 - Appoint Ms Jane HINDLE as Chair of NorthTec from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2019.
 - s9(2)(a)
 - Appoint Mr Tiwana TIBBLE as a council member of Te Wānanga o Raukawa for a term of four years from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2022.
 - Reappoint Ms Sue McCORMACK as a council member of the University of Canterbury for a term from 1 August 2019 to 31 May 2021.
 - Reappoint Mr Andrew MACFARLANE as a council member for Lincoln University for a term from 1 January 2019 to 11 June 2020.
 - Appoint Ms Suzanne ELLISON MNZM as a council member for the University of Otago from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2022.
- 3. Letters to the Ministerial appointees are attached for your signature (Appendix A refers). Two documents are attached to the letters of appointment:
 - a declaration and consent form for the purposes of obtaining consent to the appointment, confirmation of eligibility and a declaration of any conflicts of interest; and
 - a summary of Ministerial expectations of all TEI council members
- 4. Letters are also attached (Appendix B refers) to notify Chancellors and Chairs of the appointments made to their councils.
- 5. Letters of thanks to outgoing Ministerial appointees (Appendix C refers) Edward Ellis, Te Wānaga o Raukawa, and Donna Matahaere- Atariki, University of Otago.

Media release

6. We have provided a draft media release to your office.