

# Tertiary Education Report: Letters for Ministerial appointments to TEI councils – tranche one

Date:	4 April 2018	TEC priority:	High
Security level:	In Confidence	Report no:	B/18/00172
		Minister's office No:	

ACTION SOUGHT		
	Action sought	Deadline
Hon Chris Hipkins Minister of Education	Note your decision to make appointments to five tertiary education institute councils will be taken to Cabinet at its meeting on 9 April 2018; sign and send:  • letters of appointment; • letters notifying the Chancellors and Chairs about the appointments; and • letters of thanks to outgoing Ministerial appointees	
Enclosure: Yes	Round Robin: No	
<ul> <li>Appendix A: Draft letters to Ministerial appointees;</li> <li>Appendix B: Draft letters to Chancellors and Chairs; and</li> <li>Appendix C: Draft letters to outgoing Ministerial appointees</li> </ul>		

CONTACT FOR TELEPHONE DISCUSSION (IF REQUIRED)								
Name		Position		Telephone	1st contact			
Section 9(2)(a)		Section 9(2)(a)		Section 9(2)(a)	<b>✓</b>			
Mike Blanchard		Deputy Chief Executive - Operations			Section 9(2)(a)			
THE FOLLOWING DEPARTMENTS/AGENCIES HAVE SEEN THIS REPORT								
DPMC	☐ MPI	☐ ENZ	☐ ERO	☐ MBIE	☐ MoE	MFAT		
☐ MPP	☐ MSI	D NZQA	□ NZTE	⊠ TEC	☐ TPK	Treasury		

Tertiary Education Report: Letters for Ministerial appointments to TEI councils - tranche one

Minister's Office to Complete:	Approved	☐ Declined
	□ Noted	☐ Needs change
	Seen	Overtaken by Events
	☐ See Minister's Notes	Withdrawn
Comments:		

TERTIARY EDUCATION REPORT: LETTERS FOR MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS TO TEI COUNCILS - TRANCHE ONE

## Recommendations

### Hon Chris Hipkins, Minister of Education

It is recommended that you:

- 1. **note** that your decision to make seven appointments to five tertiary education institution councils will be taken to Cabinet at its meeting on 9 April 2018;
- 2. **sign** and **send** the attached letters of appointment for the Ministerial appointees (Appendix A refers); these letters include a declaration and consent form;
- 3. **sign** and **send** the attached letters notifying the Chancellors and Chairs about the appointments (Appendix B refers);
- 4. **sign** and **send** the attached letters of thanks to the outgoing Ministerial appointees (Appendix C refers); and
- 5. **agree** that the TEC release this briefing once a press release announcing the appointments has been made, with information containing personal information (the appendices) withheld.

**AGREED / NOT AGREED** 

Mike Blanchard

Deputy Chief Executive, Operations Tertiary Education Commission

Mystralia

4 April 2018

**Hon Chris Hipkins** 

Minister of Education

\_\_\_/\_\_\_/\_\_\_

# **Purpose**

1. This paper provides you with the letters needed to complete the appointments to five tertiary education institution (TEI) councils, which are due to be notified to Cabinet at its meeting on 9 April 2018. It also provides you with letters to notify the Chancellors and Chairs of your decisions and letters of thanks to the outgoing Ministerial appointees.

# **Background**

- 2. The Cabinet meeting of 9 April 2018 will note your intention to make the following appointments:
  - Appoint Ms Janine SMITH MNZM as a member of the Auckland University of Technology council for a four-year term from 10 April 2018.
  - Appoint Dr Joan FORRET as a member of the University of Waikato council for a fouryear term from 10 April 2018.
  - Appoint Mr Niwa NURI, who is a council member, as Deputy Chair of the Waikato Institute
    of Technology council from 1 May 2018 to 30 April 2020 (the end of his term as a
    member).
  - Appoint Ms Kiri GOULTER as a member of the Waikato Institute of Technology council for a four-year term from 1 May 2018.
  - Appoint Ms Theresa STRATTON as a member and as Deputy Chair of the Manukau Institute of Technology council for a four-year term from 1 May 2018.
  - Reappoint Dr Lee MATHIAS ONZN as a member and as Chair of the United Institute of Technology council for a four-year term from 1 May 2018.
  - Appoint Mr Pramjit Rai (Jeet) SUCHDEV QSM JP as a member of the United Institute of Technology council for a four-year term from 1 May 2018.

#### Letters

- 3. Letters to the Ministerial appointees are attached for your signature (Appendix A refers). These letters include a declaration and consent form for the purposes of obtaining consent to the appointment, confirmation of eligibility and a declaration of any conflicts of interest.
- 4. Letters are also attached (Appendix B refers) to notify Chancellors and Chairs of the appointments made to their councils.
- 5. Letters of thanks to outgoing Ministerial appointees (Appendix C refers) Lex Henry (Auckland University of Technology), Ian Fitzgerald (University of Waikato), Steve Howse (Waikato Institute of Technology), Brian Monk (Manukau Institute of Technology), and Sarah Haydon (Unitec Institute of Technology council).

#### Media release

6. A draft media release will be provided to your office to announce all early-2018 TEI council appointments.

# **Appendix A: Letters to Ministerial appointees**