Two learners walking in a library

University Advisory Group panel members named

University Advisory Group panel members named

Last updated 15 April 2024
Last updated 15 April 2024

Members of the University Advisory Group, which will provide the government with advice on New Zealand’s university system, have now been named. 

Led by the Chair, Professor Peter Gluckman, the group are from a variety of backgrounds and are highly respected in their fields.

  • Professor Sir Peter Gluckman is Chair of the Advisory Group and Chair of the Science System Advisory group, former Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor, a paediatrician, and Koi Tū director.
  • Dr Alastair McCormick is a professional director and Emeritus Professor of the University of Auckland, and is currently a Commissioner on the Tertiary Education Commission board.
  • Arihia Bennett (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Porou, Ngāpuhi) is the former Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Chief Executive and current Chair of Kāpuia – the Ministerial Advisory Group on the Government’s Response to the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the terrorist attack on Christchurch mosques.
  • John Allen is Chief Executive of WellingtonNZ, the Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency and Chancellor at Te Herenga Waka – Victoria University of Wellington.
  • Phil O’Reilly is Managing Director of Iron Duke Partners and previously the Chair of the Board of Business at OECD, a member of the Governing Body of the International Labour Organisation (ILO), and Business NZ Chief Executive.
  • Bella Takiari-Brame (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato-Tainui) is a professional director, currently Chair of The Lines Company Ltd, director of Te Ohu Kaimoana, and a member of the ACC Board and Crown Infrastructure Partners Ltd Board.
  • Sir David Skegg is an epidemiologist and public health physician, currently Emeritus Professor of the University of Otago and formerly its Vice-Chancellor, as well as President of the Royal Society of New Zealand, Chair of the Health Research Council, and special adviser to Parliament’s COVID-19 Epidemic Response Committee.
  • Dame Paula Rebstock is a consultant and company director/board member of Asia Pacific Healthcare Group, Vector Limited, NAZ Ltd, AIA New Zealand and Vector Metering, previously Chair of the Commerce Commission, the Accident Compensation Commission and several government reviews and panels.

The group will meet regularly to develop their advice and recommendations.

For more information, including full biographies of each member and the terms of reference for the Group, visit University Advisory Group.